Nepean Girls Hockey Association               

Mary Lou Zywicki Bursary

The bursary awards are in honour of Mary Lou Zywicki who has dedicated many years of service to girls’ hockey at both the team and executive level. She has served on the NGHA executive in various positions for many years and was instrumental in developing the NGHA website.

2014 Recipients
2013 Recipients
2012 Recipients
2011 Recipients
2010 Recipients
2009 Recipients
2008 Recipients
2007 Recipients
2006 Recipients
2005 Recipients


The NGHA wishes to recognize its players who are advancing to college or university to pursue their academics. A maximum of $2000.00 will be awarded to NGHA registered house league or competitive players who apply and best combine:

a) Sportsmanship and fair play
b) Hockey performance and quality of contribution
c) Academic achievement
d) Community participation

Note that the ultimate award will be affected by the number of qualified recipients.


a) Must be a current member in good standing of the NGHA and played in the organization for a minimum of four years
b) Must be applying to a recognized post secondary institution as a full time student in 2017
c) Must submit an application

Administration of Bursaries:

All applications will be provided to the selection committee who will select the successful candidates based on the stated qualifications. The selection committee will be chosen by the NGHA Executive comprised of at least four members, one of whom will be from outside the organization. The number of bursaries may vary annually. All selections will be final.

Funding will be forwarded to the successful applicant(s) after proof of enrolment has been received. The bursary will be made out to the applicant’s chosen institution.

Application Information:

The closing date for applications is April 17, 2017. All applications received shall be held in strict confidence. All applications and supporting letters become the property of the NGHA.

How to apply:

Complete the Mary Lou Zywicki Bursary Application (.doc), accompanied by:
a) An email or letter from the applicant’s current or past hockey coach
b) A copy of the applicant's latest school report card
c) A list of the applicant's volunteer hours as required by the applicant's school
d) A personal letter outlining your community involvement, life goals, your approach to the sport and the impact NGHA has had on you

Submit to: NGHA Bursary Committee

Congratulations to the 2014 Recipients

Left to Right - Alyssa Donston, Brittany Curry, Kelly Newton, Emma Reid
Missing - Hartley Warren

Congratulations to the 2013 Recipients

Rebecca Bourgeois
Lyndsay Clay
Madison Erbach
Chelsea Lefebvre
Veronica Zuccala

Congratulations to the 2012 Recipients

Shannon Armstrong
Megan Deluca
Isabelle Huot
Emily James
Laura Kwan
Madeleine Malone

Congratulations to the 2011 Recipients

Samantha Bennett
Emily Brunt
Andrea Ceelen
Riley De Forest
Vanessa Handley
Avril Levasseur
Jen Nowack
Celia Renaud

Congratulations to the 2010 Recipients

Breanna Barber, Allison Clennett, Janice Kwan, Meaghann Marcille, Nicki Soucy, Hillary Walsh, Gillian Williams

Congratulations to the 2009 Recipients

Congratulations to the 2008 Recipients

Left to right: (Cathy Devenny) Jane Gibson, Melissa Stephen, Jackie Milosek, Elizabeth Hobbs.

Congratulations to the 2007 Recipients

Left to right: Heather Lusk, (Mary Lou Zywicki), Chantal Mallette.
Missing: Andrea Powers and Erica Bennett.

Congratulations to the 2006 Recipients

Jaclyn Anderson, Shannon Hobbs, Allison Lochhead and Kelsey McLaughlin

Congratulations to the 2005 Recipients

1. Jocelyn Kartes 2. Koryn Wallwork